top of page
Writer's picturethis particular library lady

Booked Adventure: Ode to a Bookbag (part two)


Backpack straps and camera straps

Part two and the bookbag keeps on truckin'. Here go a few international escapades with my backpack:


Tokyo & Hakone, Japan:

The reason I bought this bag, and its first big adventure.

Matsuri fun times in Tokyo

Roaming around Shibuya

Not the best pic, but here we were on a ferry in Tokyo



I spent most of the summer of 2005 living in Tokyo, with the occasional side trek here and there.


Most notably, we spent part of a weekend in Hakone. We got one night in before we had to bail in the morning because the remnants of a typhoon was heading our way. Still got a few good pics, though.





Watch those storm clouds roll in



Hakone Open Air Museum


Hopewell Rocks, New Brunswick, Canada

This is where you end up on an aimless road trip in the Atlantic Provinces.

There I am, with my backpack, standing on the exposed sea floor

If you don't know Hopewell Rocks, it's the best place to appreciate the highest tides in the world. At high tide, this space is covered in four stories worth of the Bay of Fundy. During low tide the entire sea floor is exposed and all the islands turn into large pillars of rocks towering over us day hikers.


Cancun, Mexico

A long weekend with one of my bffs. Went to a strangers wedding, ate a bunch of food, and mostly floated in a pool. I mention this trip as an excuse to show this photo:

The bags on the left belong to my friend, the bags on the right are mine. We were there for ONE weekend. This size disparity got me (not her) flagged in the airport for extra searching. I brought a few clothes, a bathing suit, soap and shampoo, my camera, and three books. I think I could fit both my bags easily into just her carry-on.


I've never let her live this down.


Anyways, here go a few pics from the nearby beach:


Isla Mujeres below a rainbow

I have a few more backpack posts in me. Perhaps next time we'll tour some national parks? Check back soon for more!

Comments


bottom of page