top of page
Writer's picturethis particular library lady

Library Stuff - Talents



Fun fact: If you work in a library and have some type of secret talent, your library will exploit that talent in all the best ways. There's really no point in keeping it secret, especially if it can be employed in making a display or for programming.


When I returned to working in libraries 8 years ago, my library found itself in the possession of A LOT of cardboard (I'm am still fuzzy on how it got there, I just know it was more than any library would normally need). With the approach of that year's Summer Reading Program, it was decided we could use the cardboard for 'photo booth' opportunities around the library, an option simpler than figuring out how to recycle it all. I volunteered to help make the props and my secret skills were out.






My job description officially changed after that first summer. We found ways to incorporate art into all of our programs and displays. Twice in my time there we converted an entire floor into Hogwarts, and there was plenty for me to paint and build.

I worked under my desk in between adding books to the collection. I carried large painted pieces of cardboard to and from my home. I was pretty proud of the results.







Pin the sock on the Dobby








My cat, Lil Mac, posing with the Weasley's car.


Because 'art' became my thing, I was convinced to lead multiple programs of painting and drawing classes. The painting classes were like Painting with a Twist, minus the twist since were in a municipal building. But patrons still had a good time and many were repeat participants.


I've since gone onto work in other libraries and am pursuing my Master's degree in library science. But to this day, in between all the 'professional' library work I do, I am still painting displays and leading art programs.


If you ever thought about working in a library, but you were worried that it wouldn't be as much fun or magical as you imagined, I can assure you that it is and more. I went to work in libraries because I liked working with books. And now I get to paint as a regular part of my job. Libraries really are that perfect.


Comentarios


bottom of page